Possession of Marijuana
The attorneys at DSK Law have decades of experience representing individuals charged with Possession of Marijuana Virginia. Possession of Marijuana is still a crime in Virginia even if you purchased it legally in another state. The first offense is punishable by up to 30 days in jail and a fine of up to $500. However, the second offense is punishable by up to twelve months in jail and a fine of up to $2500. In fact, possession of a half-ounce or more can be charged as felony Possession with Intent to Distribute. It is important to hire an attorney that is familiar with these charges in Virginia. The defense attorneys at DSK|Law develop successful defense strategies for Possession of Marijuana charges. We strive to get the best possible result for our clients by negotiating an agreement and preparing for trial.
Individuals charged with Possession of Marijuana, first offense, are eligible for a 251 disposition. This means that after two years of probation the charge will be dismissed. It requires completion of a drug education class, 6 month license suspension, and 24 hours of community service. In many jurisdictions the judge or prosecutor will offer a 251 disposition at your first hearing and before you have an attorney. This may seem like a good option but it does not consider possible defenses and may cause problems with employment or immigration. Consult with an attorney before accepting a 251 disposition.
Amending the charge to possession of paraphernalia is an alternative disposition. This prevents a marijuana / drug possession conviction from appearing on your record. It also avoids the mandatory license suspension and substance abuse counseling. A paraphernalia conviction may also prevent or minimize future employment or immigration problems. The attorneys at DSK|Law explain these options to every client including whether to go to trial.