A top rated DUI Attorney at DSK|Law wins trial in Arlington Virginia.
Our client was charged with DUI and Refusal in Arlington Virginia. The police stopped our client after they got a flat tire. During the field sobriety tests, the police took client’s glasses and didn’t give them back. However, even without their glasses, the client performed very well on the tests. The police also did not observe slurred speech or bloodshot eyes. Regardless, the police arrested our client for DUI first offense. At the jail the police attempted to administer the breath test. Our client asked questions about the breath test and requested that a supervisor be present for the test. Rather than answer the questions, the police charged our client with refusal.
At trial, the DUI attorney showed the jury how well our client performed on the field sobriety tests without their glasses. The police officer also admitted that our client did not actually refuse to take the breath test. As a result of hiring a skilled DUI attorney, our client was found not guilty of both DUI and Refusal.
DUI First Offense Penalties
DUI (Va. Code 18.2-266) is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail and a fine of up to $2500. If convicted, you are required to complete the Alcohol Safety Action Program (ASAP), your license is suspended for 1 year, and you must have an ignition interlock device installed in your car for 6 months.
Refusal (Va. Code 18.2-268.3) first offense is a civil violation punishable by a one year license suspension. A second or subsequent refusal, or a refusal after being previously convicted of a DUI within the past 10 years is a class 1 misdemeanor punishable by up to 12 months in jail, a fine of up to $2500, and a 1 year license suspension.